Mindfulness Challenge: Week 1 Conclusion

Week 1 can be found here. This week we focused on classic mindfulness meditation, using a variety of techniques.

I’m up to 10 minutes twice a day, having steadily titrated up. This week I also:

  • got really sick. Like, fever, nausea, congestion, sore throat, etc
  • got turned down for a job I desperately wanted
  • had my car die on me for the second time in three months

 

And you know what? I’m doing okay. Part of me (the negative part) wants to be like “well, because when it rains– it pours, and I’m just out of capacity to CARE anymore.”

The positive part of me, which is winning tonight, attributes the equanimity with which I am accepting that I probably need to go back to riding the bus, sell my car, and buy something else later, to the fact that I have intentionally created space for myself to be calm in the midst of the maelstrom.

This afternoon, when my car coasted itself to a pretty stop (on the side of the road! I was safe the whole time!) I was together enough to call AAA and joke with the lady on the phone, then calmly enjoy my quiet time to myself for an hour and a half. I even took a nature selfie beside the road while the tow-truck driver was hooking my car up, because I live in the Pacific Northwest and even our highways are pretty here.

natureselfie.jpg

Then I had energy left to go hang out with a friend, get the last few groceries my plague stricken household needed, and write a blog post as promised. I’m feeling pretty good about this.

I find it most helpful to do breathing-focused meditation during the day, and then visualization meditation right before I’m falling asleep, so that is likely what I will continue to do as time goes on.

Here’s to healthy habits! In week 2, starting Monday, we’ll be focusing on mindful eating, so I’m reading a lot about that just now. Thanks to everyone who recommended Savor, by Thich Nhat Hahn, as it’s blowing my mind right now.

comment below and tell me: did you successfully meditate more days than not this week? did you like, dislike, loathe, or not have any strong feelings one way or the other about it? what type of meditative practice worked/works for you? 

4 thoughts on “Mindfulness Challenge: Week 1 Conclusion

  1. I varied widely on my time taken for meditation. I did 20 whole minutes one day, then the next day I forgot until literally right before bedtime and did a 7 minute guided meditation so I wouldn’t fall asleep during it. lol. In every session I felt better afterwards. It helped me get rid of a lot of stress, so I am planning on continuing to try to meditate at least a little each day. 🙂 Thanks so much for doing these!

    Like

    • I’m glad it worked out!

      I varied widely in time of day too, but I’m settling on right as I wake up and right before bed as best for me!

      Like

    • The beauty of this is that every moment is a new chance to try again. I’m sorry your days were super stressful. I welcome you to try five minutes of mindfulness right now and begin again, ever moving forward

      Like

Leave a Reply

